Maharashtra State Chapter of ASI

Minutes of AGM

Minutes of Annual General Body meeting 10th February 2024- Nashik

Minutes of General Body meeting held on 10th February 2024 at Nashik, Democracy
Entry was allowed to the meeting after verifying the membership number and attendance was taken at the entry.
President MASI, Dr Sanjay Kolte welcomed all the members and also ASI President Dr Probal Neyogi and requested to Join on the Stage

Dr Sameer Rege, Hon. Secretary welcomed all and read condolences as Dr Shantikumar Chivate, Dr Anil Gandhi, Dr VP Gokhale. The House stood up and paid homage with one minute silence.
The minutes of previous GBM were confirmed. Proposed by Dr Pratapsing Varute and seconded by Dr Abhay Dalvi.
Dr Sameer Rege read the secretary report and informed that last year travelling fellowships namely Dr KC Gharpure and Dr AR Chitale travelling fellowships were completed by Dr Jayati Churiwala and dr Yogesh Takalkar. The same fellowships were awarded to Dr Madhuri Jain Gore and Dr Vivek Salvi for the year 2024-25 respectively.
The best city chapter awards were announced and the best city chapter Academic was awarded to Surgical Society Thane while Nagpur Surgical Society won the best city chapter in social category.
Dr Anjali Dawle, Hon Treasurer read the treasurer report, she suggested that excess amount be deposited in fixed deposit in nationalized banks and would hand over the same instructions to the next treasurer.
Amendments suggested in masi election process were as follows:

  • Amendments for MASI elections suggested
  • Any ASI member for 5 years residing in Maharashtra can contest elections for executive member of MASI from the area he is been domiciled with permanent address. (this address should be the same in the ASI register before declaration of the elections).
  • To be eligible to contest for Hon. Treasurer and Hon. Secretary’s post, one should have atleast completed one term as EC member of MASI.
  • ASI member from Maharashtra can apply for multiple posts with duly paid money, however can contest for only one post, hence requires to withdraw his/her nomination before the withdrawal date. Any member can contest for only one post and would get disqualified if one fails to withdraw before deadline.
  • Proposed next election would be on digital format so that many members can exercise their right to vote. The election officer appointed by the MASI President along with election committee would ask for applications for the vendor, check credentials of the vendor and put forth in front of EC Committee and get approval from the EC- MASI before finalizing the vendor for the same.
  • Applications of the vendors with negative credentials or involved in faulty affairs should not be considered for the elections process.
  • If any post remains vacant after the last date of filing, the MASI President and EC would coordinate with the local surgical societies and few nominations can be invited from that area with extension of the filing date only for that area so that single elections can be conducted online before GBM.

Amendments in conduct masicon were as follows:

  • Active Surgical Society which is affiliated to MASI can BID for MASICON.
    Organising Chairman, secretary and treasurer should have been ASI members for atleast 5 years

Hon Secretary informed about the change in the organizing secretary for MASICON 2025 from Dr LK Kukreja to Dr Anand Kamat. He also informed the GBM that the EC has informed the Kolhapur Surgical Society to conduct GBM of the city chapter within next 45 days and get the new organizing secretary approved and inform the same to the MASI office following which the mou would be signed with KSS. If the GBM doesn’t approve, the losses have to be borne by KSS and the money of the registered candidates should be returned in toto.

Hon secretary informed the house about the Bids received for Masicon 2026. MASI office received three bids namely from Thane, Gondia and Mumbai in due time of which Mumbai had withdrawn before the GBM. Nanded surgical Society had also send the bid but was after the due date hence couldn’t be considered. He urged representatives of both Thane and Gondia society to talk so that solution can be reached unanimously. Thane Surgical Society after having words with Gondia and Vice President Dr Suryawanshi withdrew the bid for MASICON 2026 in favour of Gondia and masicon 2026 was awarded to Gondia with Dr Vikas Jain as Organisng secretary.

Elections for Masi executive 2024-27 were conducted by election officer Dr Ajay Punpale. The were conducted for the post of

  1. 1. Hon Secretary, contestants Dr Sachin Naik, Dr Vikas Deshmukh, Dr Vijay Shivpuje,
  2. Hon. Treasurer with Contestants : Dr Sanjay Ghate and Dr Kedar Patil.
  3. Ec from Latur with Contestants Dr Ghugale and Dr Sudhir Jatal,
  4. EC from Pune with contestants Dr Prafulla Pradhan and Dr Satish Pattanshetti.

The elections were conducted by voting and following were declared to be won:

  1. Hon Secretary: Dr Sachin Naik.
  2. Hon. Treasurer: Dr Sanjay Ghate.
  3. EC from Latur: Dr Ghugale.
  4. EC from Pune:Dr Prafulla Pradhan

Dr Sameer Rege and Dr Anjali Dawle thanked all for supporting them in last three years and wished the new Executive MASI to take MASI to newer heights.

For the minutes of the meeting in PDF format, you can download the PDF file by clicking HERE


Previous AGM minutes:
















Important information

Latest Updates

Information about elections to Executive Committee has been updated. Click HERE for details.